Fat and Beauty

link: when your mum says she’s fat

In response:

If I ever have a daughter, I want to tell her that she’s beautiful: because she’s brave, she’s compassionate, she’s smart, she’s capable and she’s loved and important.

Since when did beauty become a purely physical trait to counteract ‘fat?’

I read a piece about not calling little girls beautiful, to keep them from falling into the appearances trap, but I disagree. I think they need to be taught a broader definition of beauty, the truth of value.

add your voice

